Morrow County, OHIO


Morrow County is comprised of 406 square miles of land divided into sixteen (16) townships and with seven (7) incorporated villages. The largest village, being Mount Gilead, is the county seat. There is a solid infrastructure which includes state routes and two points of access to Interstate 71 for commuting to Columbus, Mansfield, or Cleveland.

The 1990 United State Census reported indicates that Morrow County had a population of 27,749. In 2000, the Census report found that the population of Morrow County had grown to 31,628, an increase of 14 percent. For this same period, the overall growth rate for that state of Ohio was 4.7 percent.

Population estimates again from the United States Census Bureau show that in 2003 that the population for Morrow County would have increase to 33,568 by July 1st. Through these estimates it is reasonable that an additional increase of 6 percent to the overall population would increase the total population of Morrow County by 20 percent since 1990.

Morrow County is predominately rural with most of the inhabitants living in townships outside of the incorporated villages. Morrow County has become a bedroom community with the majority (78 percent) of the residence commuting to Mansfield, Delaware, Mt. Vernon, or Columbus for employment purposes. Morrow County is bordered by five other counties, to wit; Crawford County to the north, Richland County to the Northeast, Knox County to the East, Delaware County to the South, and Marion County to the West. Except for the Mt. Gilead State Park, a small Department of Natural Resources facility, a State Highway Garage, Morrow County has no other state government institutions.